RSS Feed

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Posted on

Another totally amazing cookie recipe.

After eating leftover lasagna for dinner (looks like its going to be lasagna for the next few nights…), I decided I wanted to bake something. What– I wasn’t sure. I checked out what supplies I had, looked over a few recipes and settled on these. People seemed to like them, so I decided to give them a try….and. they. were. AWESOME. these are preeettty much the perfect oatmeal raisin cookie. I considered adding walnuts as the recipe said they were optional, but I wanted to keep them simple and classic. Maybe next time.

What You Need: Makes 22 large cookies

1 cup vegan margerine (softened)

1 cup brown sugar, packed

3/4 cup sugar

2 tsps vanilla

egg replacer for two eggs (I used 4 tbsps of flax seed, and 6 tbsps of water)

1 and 1/4 cup flour

2 tsp cinammon

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3 cups of oats

1 1/2 cups of raisins

optional cup of walnuts (I omitted these.)

Preheat oven to 350. Mix the margarine, sugars and vanilla, in a bowl. Once mixed, add the egg replacer, and mix again. In another bowl mix the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. Add this mixture to the original bowl of sugars and “eggs”. Once everything is mixed, add in the oats. Then the raisins.

Using a 1/4 cup, scoop the dough onto a greased cookie sheet and flatten each cookie slightly. Pop the tray (s) in the oven and let them cook for 15-17 minutes. Once the edges start to brown (the center can still be gooey) remove from the oven. Let them sit (and continue to cook) for 3 more minutes. EAT!

easy, right? I can’t emphasize how good these came out. Crispy on the outside, gooey on the inside, and filllled with raisins. Cookie success.

I’m still on the hunt for the perfect vegan chocolate chip cookie….any one have any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

