RSS Feed

Mom’s Lentil Soup

Posted on

A few months ago, my mom gave my sister and me a cook book filled with recipes we used to love growing up. There’s everything in it from banana cake, kugel, rice and beans and salad. I browsed through it the other day in search of recipes I could “veganize” and AHA! came across lentil soup. The recipe looked super easy and involved a minimal number of ingredients so I decided to give it a shot. The result: simple yet yummy lentil soup. Eat it with a chunk of whole wheat french bread, and you’re good to go. Oh, also, beware: THIS MAKES A TON OF SOUP! Probably 8 servings. I’m planning on freezing half of it seeing as I was hoping to eat something other than lentils for the next eight meals of my life.

What You Need:

1 bag of lentils, rinsed and picked through for any rotten ones

3 stalks of celery, diced

3 large carrots diced

1 onion chopped fine

2 cloves of garlic, minced fine

1 tsp oregano

1 sweet potato, peeled and cubed into 1/2 inch pieces

9 cups of beef broth (or in this case, vegetable broth)

In a large pot, sauté the onions, carrots, celery, and garlic in a little bit of olive oil (1 tbsp, perhaps.) Cook until the onions are translucent – NOT brown – and veggies are soft. Add oregano and continue cooking for 2 minutes until all flavors are mixed.

Add lentils, broth, and sweet ps. Bring to a boil. Lower and simmer covered for about an hour. Be careful to check to make sure there is enough liquid. If not, add more broth. It should be thick and you can season with salt and pepper if needed.

Note: my mom calls for 9 cups of broth. If you like your lentil soup a little soupy, I would say 9 cups should do it. BUT, if you like a thicker lentil soup, I would suggest eliminating one of the cups of broth and just sticking with 8. Definitely check on the soup every 15 minutes, mix, and add additional broth if things look too dry.

Update: The next morning. I rescind my above statement re: broth. This morning (when packing my lunch – lentil soup of course), I realized that the soup had thickened overnight. Perfect! So, good call on the 9 cups of broth, mom.

Leave a Reply

