RSS Feed

The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies (Seriously)

Posted on

I did it, I did it! MYSTERY SOLVED! I found THE BEST Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies. PHEW. This has been a long time coming, people, but it’s here.

I decided to make these on a whim last night because I was out of cookies AND happened to have all of the ingredients already in my fridge. They took about 10 minutes to put together and then another 30 minutes to bake. EASY (and worth it, trust me.)

One of my biggest pet peeves with vegan food is when people say something is”OMG AMAZING AAAH!!!” but then it like, isn’t. Total let down. I PROMISE you these will not disappoint. I’ve had my share of non vegan cookies (in fact, they were the only kinds I ate for oh, I don’t know, the first 23 years of my life?), so I KNOW when a cookie is good and when it aint. I will say, though: these are NOT ooey, gooey, mushy, fluffy chocolate chip cookies. If you’re looking for those, check out the recipe for Cowboy Cookies. These are thin and crispy on the edges, with a gooey center in the middle. Oh, and they’re HUGE! The perfect cookie all around. Non vegans: MAKE THESE. You’ll be happy you did.

What You Need:

1 1/4 Cup Unbleached All Purpose Flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt

1/2 Cup Brown Sugar
1/4 Cup (White) Vegan Sugar
1 Stick (1/2 Cup) of Soy Butter (Earth Balance)
2 TBS of ground flax mixed with 3 TBS of Warm Water (allow to sit for 2 minutes)
1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup vegan chocolate chips

What You Do:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Mix flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl. In another bowl, mix together everything else BUT the chocolate chips. At this point, if the dough looks too crumbly (which mine did) add in a splash or two of soy milk. The dough should be wet and sticky. With your hands, mix in the chocolate chips. Drop balls of dough onto a lightly greased baking sheet (I had about 11 balls in total). Make sure to leave enough space between the balls because these thing SPREAD. Put them in the oven for about 30 minutes. When done, the edges should look brown and crispy and the centers should be soft to the touch. Remove them from the oven and let them sit on the counter for another 10 minutes (they’ll continue to bake.)

ENJOY!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies « What Stephanie Made

Leave a Reply

