RSS Feed

Kale Salad

Posted on

Ladies and gentlemen, the case of “uhh what am I supposed to do with…KALE?” has been cracked. Up until tonight I had eaten kale salads and loved them but had never actually brought myself to buy the green funny looking stuff from the grocery store and MAKE something with it. Steam it? Cook it? Eat it raw? What on EARTH do you do with it? Turns out preparing, eating and enjoying this food is way easier than I had thought.

The thing to note here is, as far as the dressing goes, you can really use whatever you like – it’ll all taste good.  I decided to make my own dressing, and basically threw in every type of “sauce” or “oil” I had handy, and it actually turned out really well. Another bonus aside from being easy to make? Kale is INSANELY good for you. Really high in Vitamins A and C, it’s definitely a super food.

The final product was a really tasty, healthy salad that I plan on making WAY more often.

What You Need:

1 bunch of kale, rinsed, leaves removed from stems and loosely chopped

1/2 red bell pepper, cubed

1/2 avocado, sliced however you like

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

1/4 – 1/2 cup cup chopped red onion

cracked pepper

olive oil

juice of 1/2 a lemon

sesame sauce

soy sauce

What You Do:

The trick with getting kale to wilt and not taste so “raw” is to let it sit (once rinsed and chopped) in the dressing of your choice.  So what I did was I put the chopped Kale into a bowl with a tbsp of olive oil, juice of half a lemon, few glugs of soy sauce and few glugs of the sesame sauce. I let that sit while I prepared the rest of my veggies. I added everything into the bowl of kale, tossed everything together, topped it with some fresh pepper and devoured the salad….me, myself, and I. No sharings on this one.

*UPDATE: 5/20/2010: I’ve found that using your bare hands to massage the kale with your dressing, speeds up the “kale softening process” and works wonders! Once you’ve dressed the kale with your choice of oils, lemon juice etc, stick your hands in the bowl and gently rub the dressing into the leaves getting into the nooks and crannies. Set the bowl of kale aside, prep your veggies, and continue with the recipe.

One response »

  1. Or kale chips. Just sayin’.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

