RSS Feed

My Bookshelf: The Thirty Minute Vegan

Posted on

Okay. SO. When I first got hardcore into Vegan food, I didn’t really know what I was getting myself into. I hardly knew how to cook, let alone cook Vegan food. So I started looking into cookbooks – which ones were good, which ones weren’t, which ones I HAD to have, etc. Turns out there are a LOT of Vegan/Vegetarian cookbooks out there. A LOT. I ended up buying a bunch…some have been awesome, others….not so. I thought it’d be helpful to share my take on a few of the cook book purchases I made and hopefully steer in you in the right direction, should you be in the market for a new cookbook.

First up: The 30 Minute Vegan. I knew it would be easier to fully get into Vegan food  if I were making meals for myself. Unfortunately, I don’t have 3 hours each night to dedicate to preparing multiple course feasts, so I snapped this one up because, well, 30 minutes to make dinner? Yes, please.

The good:

I’ve had GREAT luck with this book so far. I’ve used it to make three recipes, each of which came out amazingly. One thing that I look for in cook books are ingredients that I either have/am familiar with/won’t have to spend a fortune on. This is (aside from the pretty pictures) one of THE top things I look for. This book fits the bill. I’ve tried and loved:

Basil Pesto

Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

Tempeh Veggie Enchiladas

And, true to form, they only took about 30 minutes to make! Ha! Who would have thought?!

The Not So Good:

So, in case you haven’t been able to tell by my disproportionate number of dessert posts to regular food posts, I’m a dessert girl. Love it, can’t live without it, must (and do) have it every night. Usually when I pick up a cookbook I jump to the back of the book to check out the dessert recipes. I guess I was so blindsided by the first 3/4s of this book that I didn’t pay much attention to the back of it. The desserts? Meh. Not so impressed. A lot of them are “Raw”, and nothing against raw food (which I am actually a big fan of) but if I’m going to have dessert I want chocolate….a lot of it. I’d rather save the fruity stuff for breakfast.

Enough with the rambling, already. Should I get it or not?

This is a keeper, for sure. It’s my “Tuesday night, got home from work late, I’m starvation central and need food NOW NOW NOW!” book. I know I can have something made and in my belly in 45 minutes tippy tops. So if you’re not looking for anything too fancy (or anything with an extensive dessert collection) pick this up!

Already have it? What do you think?

Leave a Reply

