RSS Feed

Classic Vegan Biscuits

Posted on

I’m back from my mini vacation to Houston/Baton Rouge and in the spirit of all that is wonderfully Southern, I bring you: biscuits. Oh, biscuits. Biscuits, biscuits, biscuits. A reminder of so many fun memories. I usually associate biscuits with my summers spent in North Carolina, specifically with my favorite breakfast ever at summer camp – egg and cheese biscuits. MAN did I love those things.

Over the course of the past month or two, I’ve tried to make biscuits twice and each time they came out terribly. I followed the directions perfectly and used all of the right ingredients yet both times they turned out hard, crunchy and….rock like. In my head I had visions of buttery, pillow like masterpieces, ever so delicately arranged in a gingham lined bread basket for Sunday brunch, but these…..were so, so, SO not that. I knew I had to be doing something wrong, so a few days ago I set out to master, once and for all, the art of biscuit making.

After prowling around the internet long enough, I put together what I thought/hoped/prayed would be a fool-proof biscuit recipe. Lo and behold…I was right! Ladies and gentlemen, this is IT! THE best (and seriously, I know what I’m talking about when it comes to home-made biscuits and what a bad one tastes like) vegan biscuits ever! Fluffy, layered, buttery like you wouldn’t even believe, these are so so so delicious. Layered with blueberry jam they were perfection.

And the best part? Easy to make and only require FIVE ingredients! Make them!

What You Need:

2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup earth balance
1 cup plain soymilk – plus a splash or two on reserve

What You Do:

Heat oven to 450º.

Mix flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl. Add Earth Balance and mix all together, using your fork to break/chop up the butter into little pieces. Once you have a pretty crumbly mixture, add the 1 cup of soymilk in. If the mix is still too dry, add an extra splash. Continue mixing (I used my hands at this point) until everything congeals into one big ball of dough. Time to roll it out.

Flour a countertop, roll out your dough to about an inch thickness, fold it in half, and repeat (roll to an inch thick, fold in half.) Once you have the dough to about an inch think (make sure it’s AT LEAST an inch thick – this is where the problems can begin if the dough is too thinly rolled out!), start cutting the biscuits out with the edge of a glass.

Take the scraps, roll them into another ball, and repeat until all the dough has been cut into circles.

Place the circles onto a greased baking sheet and bake for about 12 or so minutes. Keep your eye on them — you’ll know when they’re done!

2 responses »

  1. I have to say.. I’m excited to try these.. I am the QUEEN of biscuits around my neighborhood.. learned to make them at the foot of my Grandma when I was 5. However, I recently became a vegan (last 3 months)..love the food and lifestyle..and have been looking for a way to adapt my classic buttermilk recipe. I might try adding a little lemon juice to the soymilk (to make the faux buttermilk) and see how it goes. Will let you know! Thanks for doing the test kitchen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

