RSS Feed

“Go-To” Tofu Scramble

Posted on

On the weekends, I like treating myself to something other than my normal bowl of oatmeal. Sometimes it’s pancakes, sometimes it’s french toast, and recently, I’ve been all about tofu scrambles. For the past few months, I’ve satiated my scramble fix by trekking all the way to the West Village to pick up a scramble at ‘Snice. The walk has ALWAYS been worth it, and at 6 bucks a pop, I really can’t complain. Anyway — today I woke up starved but just didn’t have it in me for the voyage (see: was too lazy to change out of pjs) so I decided to give it a shot and try to make my version of the tofu scramble. I used Isa Chandra’s recipe from “Vegan Brunch” as a starting point and improvised along the way.  The results were AWESOME, and I recommend everyone try making this.

Note: While this may be called a “Scramble” DON’T think this is going to taste like eggs! It doesn’t! But, if you have been missing eggs and are in the mood for something a little less heavy/sweet than most brunch fare, try this!

What You Need:

2 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp dried thyme

1/2 tsp tumeric

1 tsp salt

3 tbsps water

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 small yellow onion, finely chopped

one cup of finely chopped bell peppers (I used red and green for this one)

1 block of extra firm tofu, drained, and cut into 5 equal sized slabs

2 tbsps olive oil

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

generous cracked black pepper

1 tsp red chili pepper flakes

What You Do:

Combine the cumin, thyme, tumeric, salt and water in a small bowl. Set aside.

In a large skillet, heat oil over medium heat, add garlic, and saute for about a minute. Add in onion and red pepper and sautee, mixing often, for about 5 minutes.

Add the slabs of tofu and using a spatula/other mixing utensil, start breaking up the tofu. You can have the tofu any size you want – a little larger and bite size works, but I like the pieces a bit smaller. Be sure to mix the everything in the pan around often, as the tofu will want to stick to the bottom of the pan…don’t let it! Sautee the mixture for about ten minutes (everything should be moist….if things are starting to look too dry add a few splashes of water to the pan.)

After ten minutes, add the spice mixture from the small bowl and mix. Continue cooking for another minute, then add the nutritional yeast, generous amount of black pepper, chili pepper flakes, mix everything around one final time, and you’re done!

I ate this over two pieces of toast, but other options are putting it into a whole wheat wrap, on a biscuit, or plain with a side of fresh fruit. Like most things I blog about, this recipe is very adaptable–other ideas include adding mushrooms, broccoli, spinach, black beans, etc. Go crazy, and let me know how it comes out!

2 responses »

  1. What a great recipe (and pics) – will try it out next weekend!

    And for anyone who happens to go to Dublin in the Emerald Isle, you simply must try out the scrambled tofu with home fries on the brunch menu in Juice (juicerestaurant.ie). I used to live in Dublin and this was always one of my favourites…

    Reply
  2. Pingback: How To: Tofu « What Stephanie Made

Leave a Reply

