RSS Feed

Recipe Request: Weight Watchers Brownie Macaroons

Posted on

This one came from a co-worker of mine currently on Weight Watchers. I bake A LOT and I bring most of what I make into the office (because if I didn’t I’d be about 10 pounds heavier) and as she’s getting ready for her big w-e-d-d-i-n -g, she usually restrains herself from gorging on my treats. The other day she e-mailed me this recipe that she received from WW, and seeing as a. it looked simple b. I already owned the ingredients that it required and c. I like feeding my co workers, I decided to give these a shot.

The recipe makes FIFTY (yes, 5-0) of these little bites and each contain one Weight Watchers point. The results were, generally speaking, good. These have a nice, chocolately/coconutty flavor, not too overpowering and definitely not too sweet. As far as consistency goes, they are somewhere in between a brownie and a macaroon, light, fluffy and crumble easily.  Would I eat these if I weren’t on Weight Watchers? Quite honestly – probably not. I’m more of a ooey, gooey, chocolately, fudgy, so bad for you it HURTS dessert kind of person, so unless I was specifically baking for someone trying so lose a couple lbs, I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to make these. BUT, they’re not bad, I promise – if you’re on the market for a diet friendly, vegan dessert, give these a shot.

What You Need:

1 1/2 cup(s) all-purpose flour

2/3 cup(s) unsweetened cocoa

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp table salt

1 cup(s) sugar

1/3 cup(s) Coconut oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup(s) hot water, almost boiling, divided

1 cup(s) packaged shredded coconut, unsweetened

What You Do:

Preheat oven to 350ºF.

In a large bowl, sift together flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt. In another large bowl, mix sugar with oil and vanilla until well-blended. Add half of flour mixture and half of water to sugar mixture; beat until smooth. Add coconut, remaining water and remaining flour mixture; beat until well-combined.

Scoop scant tablespoons of dough and roll into balls; place on lightly greased cookie sheet, leaving about 1 1/2- to 2-inches between each cookie. When all 50 cookies are made, flatten each ball into a 2-inch disk with the back of a wet spoon or fork

Bake until done, about 8 to 10 minutes. Allow cookies to cool on cookie sheets for about 2 minutes then move onto wire rack and let cool.

Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Wow, these look great. I’m both vegan and a WW member too! Can’t wait to give them a try. I just posted a recipe for Sun-Dried Tomato Spread that’s zero points per serving on my blog http://pleasepassthetofu.wordpress.com/2010/12/07/sun-dried-tomato-spread/ Your coworker would probably love to try it.

    Reply
  2. Hi there! These sounds lovely, but please could you say how many WW points there are as I am on WW and would prefer to know before making them !! Many thanks !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

