RSS Feed

Breakfast Quinoa

Posted on

Okay, okay, I can see some of you rolling your eyes thinking I’m a woman obsessed (which, actually, I am) with quinoa. ANOTHER quinoa recipe? Can it be?! YES! And I’m actually pretty excited about this one because it’s the first time I’ve experimented with it and I can already tell this is going to be a staple for me. Ladies and gentlemen, I bring you….BREAKFAST QUINOA.

Since the beginning of time (see: 1985), I’ve been an oatmeal for breakfast gal. My mother can attest to this – every morning the following scene would unfold: wake up, rise from bed ravenous, march into kitchen, find bowl of oatmeal waiting for me at the table, devour. Today, I’ve STILL got the same shtick going on! Oatmeal for breakfast every. single. day.

This past weekend, I dared to switch it up a bit (!) and made my first bowl of breakfast quinoa. Guys… I AM SOLD. Not only was this super delicious, but it filled me up for a long, long time (the most important thing about breakfast, in my opinion). It was easy to put together and can be modified/changed depending on what you’re in the mood for. It’s as simple as: cook quinoa, add toppings, eat. The following recipe made about 4 servings, so I’ve been eating this stuff all week! Read on.

What You Need: (Serves 3-4)

1 cup uncooked, rinsed quinoa

2 cups vanilla soy milk/almond milk

1 cup blueberries

handful of sliced almonds

1 heaping tbsp almond butter

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tbsp agave syrup

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

extra splashes of soy/almond milk

What You Do:

Place one cup of rinsed quinoa and two cups of milk into a small saucepan. Bring to a boil, reduce to VERY LOW HEAT, cover and let sit for 15 minutes. Note: for one reason or another, my sauce pan overflowed with soy milk after the first few minutes of cooking(which doesn’t happen with water). Lesson learned: when cooking quinoa with soy milk, keep your eye on the sauce pan and keep it at low heat.

Once the quinoa is cooked, go crazy and add anything and everything your heart desires. For this iteration I stuck with blueberries, almond slices, cinnamon, agave, vanilla and a scoop of almond butter. After mixing everything, I added in an additional 1/3 cup of  milk to make it a little creamier.

Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: VeganGrub.com » Blog Archive » Breakfast Quinoa « What Stephanie Made

Leave a Reply

