RSS Feed

Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Posted on

This recipe isn’t entirely original as I’ve posted it before, but I made a tiny change to them and as they came out better than the first time, and therefore I figure’d they were blog worthy.

The other night, Brian and I made a feast of a dinner – two kinds of pasta, a bottle of wine, I even made a SMOOTHIE post meal because he was  “still hungry” (or so he claimed). When we finished eating/devouring our meal, we sat back, kicked our legs up, stared at the pile (literally – a pile) of dirty dishes in the sink and thought the only thought left to think: what’s for dessert? I wasn’t in the mood to get too creative so I went with something I’d made before that came out GREAT and I knew would satisfy our sweet tooths….teeths…? Meh, you get it.

The batter was all made and ready to be divvied up onto the cookie sheets, when I went perusing through my cabinets looking for extras to add in. I found a bag of coconut flakes that was almost empty, so I dumped the rest of the bag into the batter. Note: I NEVER DO THIS. Especially with dessert. I never, ever stray from the recipe. Baking is weird like that — if you screw up even one little thing, the whole dessert can be ruined. An inedible dessert? Gah! Blasphemy. SO – even doing something as small as adding in a cup of coconut flakes to these cookies was, well, a big step for me.

Another thing  I changed from my original iteration of these — I made the cookies smaller AND baked them for a shorter time period. Last time, the cookies spread A LOT and were, while delicious, thin and slightly crispy. By making them smaller, they didn’t spread as much, and by taking them out a bit earlier, the insides were perfectly soft. Mmmm!

What You Need: (Makes 16 cookies)

1 1/4 Cup Unbleached All Purpose Flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt

1/2 Cup Brown Sugar
1/4 Cup (White) Vegan Sugar
1 Stick (1/2 Cup) of Soy Butter (Earth Balance)
2 TBS of ground flax mixed with 3 TBS of Warm Water (allow to sit for 2 minutes)
1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup vegan chocolate chips, 1 cup of shredded, unsweetened coconut

What You Do:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Mix flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl. In another bowl, mix together everything else but the chocolate chips. With your hands, mix in the chocolate chips, followed by the coconut. With wet hands, scoop out the dough into golf ball sized balls, and place them on a lightly greased baking sheet. The dough made 16 cookies for me, so you should scoop accordingly to get the same number. Leave about two inches in between each cookie, lightly pat each down with the back of a wet spoon, then place them in the oven and cook for exactly  20 minutes. (I cooked them for 30 minutes last time and the results were ENTIRELY different. As ovens do differ, though, anywhere from 20-22 minutes is fine.) Remove from the oven and then, while I normally would tell you to “set aside and let cool” you’re definitely going to want to taste one of these suckers the second it comes out of the oven. This is when they are the BEST. So do it! And then, (if any remain), “set aside and let cool.”

Enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. I made these tonight and YUM! I doubled the batch so I’m giving some away to friends; they are too good not to share. Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: ***The GirlieGirl Army*** » Blog Archive » Vegan Makeup, Eco Sunscreens, & Green Father’s Day Gifts

  3. Thanks for the great recipe! I featured it on my new blog. I tweaked it a bit. I didn’t have quite enough earth balance, so I substituted coconut oil. And I used evaporated cane juice instead of white sugar.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

