RSS Feed

Update, Update! How To: Tofu

Posted on

Guys! A WONDERFUL thing happened! Remember my How To: Tofu post from a few days ago? Well, Brian read it and surprised me with my very own TofuXPress! (I’m convinced he bought it just to save himself from “pressing” duty, which is usually how he helps out with tofu dinners. Whatever his reasons, I care not — the fact is that I came home from work today and there it was, waiting for me, all shiny and new. Thanks Bri!)

I LOVE IT. It was easy to put together (aka there is no “putting together” required), and after having the tofu in the presser for about 15 seconds, there was already a pool of water accumulated. We poured out the water, put it in the fridge, and 10 minutes later, it had filled up again. The box says to leave the TofuXpress in the fridge for an hour to let it fully drain, but I couldn’t wait the whole hour, so after about 20 minutes (and draining it twice) I decided that my tofu was drained enough.

Bonus? The darn thing comes with a marinating top! Once you’ve drained your tofu, you remove the top piece, fill the plastic container with the marinade of your choice, cover it with the marinating top, and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours.

I’m so happy with this thing. I can’t even tell you how much time and paper towels this will save me. I will be making tofu a LOT more now.

Note: I am rarely, if ever*, this excited about kitchen products. In fact, re-reading this post, it doesn’t even sound like me…that should show you just HOW happy I am with this little sucker.

*I admit that the only other time I was this excited about a new addition to my kitchen was when I got my Cuisinart 4 Cup Food Processor. This was the day my life changed forever.

One response »

  1. That is SO cool. I’ve gotta get one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

