RSS Feed

Blueberry Oat Muffins

Posted on

Last Saturday I woke up with a very clear mission in my mind: BLUEBERRIES. I wanted to buy tons and tons of fresh blueberries and go crazy in the kitchen with them. And this is exactly what I did.

I marched to the Farmer’s Market at the ungodly early hour of 10 AM (it was a Saturday, people!) and already the market was packed — not to mention STEAMY. I picked up three pints of blueberries and marched right back home. Actually, that’s a lie. I also picked up a new addition to the herb family I’ve got going on in my kitchen: CILANTRO. How some people don’t have the taste for this stuff is beyond me. I just LOVE it!

I came home and set out on first blueberry adventure of  of the day*:  blueberry oat muffins. I’m of the belief that if you’re going to have a mufin for breakfast, shouldn’t it at least be a HEALTHY muffin? This one does the trick. Whole wheat flour, no oil (!), brown sugar, oats, blueberries….these are actually GOOD for you. Plus, they are incredibly easy to make, take about 15 minutes to bake, and are a crowd pleaser for sure. These went fast at the office!

What You Need: (adapted from Happy Herbivore)

1½ cups whole wheat  flour

½ cup rolled oats

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

½ cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp nutmeg

¼ tsp salt

1 cup unsweetened applesauce

¼ cup pure maple syrup

1 cup fresh wild blueberries

What You Do:

Preheat oven 350 F. In a bowl, mix together the flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Add applesauce, sugar, maple syrup, and mix, combining well.  Add in the blueberries and carefully mix. Spoon into lightly greased muffin tins and fill 3/4 of the way (you should be able to fill 12 muffin tins.) Place in the oven and bake for about 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean!

Enjoy!

* There were more! Will post later.

Leave a Reply

