RSS Feed

Easy Quinoa and Chickpea Salad

Posted on

A few nights ago I was craving something fresh, light, with veggies and….simple. We ate a TON over the weekend and by Monday it felt like my arteries were going to explode SO I wanted to take it easy for Monday’s dinner. Also, I’m trying to take advantage of the fact that I’m moving in TEN days (!) and I’ve been trying to use everything in my pantry and fridge. Enter: a can of chickpeas and some quinoa. Perfect! I added in some of my new cilantro, a few spices, chopped cherry tomatoes and voila — an easy quinoa salad, perfect as a side dish or served under a veggie burger, with tofu cubes, etc.

What You Need:

1 cup quinoa

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 3/4 cups water

1 cup canned chickpeas, drained

1 carton of cherry tomatoes, halved

1 clove garlic, minced

juice of one lime

4 teaspoons olive oil

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

What You Do:

Add the water and quinoa to a small/medium sauce pan and place over high heat. Once boiling, reduce heat to low, cover the quinoa, and let cook for 15-20 minutes. Check on it once halfway through and give it a good mix to prevent anything from sticking to the bottom.

When the quinoa is done, fluff it with a fork. Add in the rest of the ingredients, finish off with salt and pepper to taste and voila, you’re done! This salad tastes even better the next day…perfect work lunch!

Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Chickpeas and quinoa! Two of my favorite foods! I have some cooked quinoa in the fridge –I’m making this for lunch today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

