RSS Feed

(THE BEST) Blueberry Pie

I will start this post by saying I am NOT a pie person. I’ve never liked pie. I’ve never craved pie. I’ve never looked at a dessert menu at a restaurant and picked pie over anything else. ANYTHING else came before me picking pie, give me chocolate and give me tons of it, thank you very much. SO, you’re just as surprised as I am that I a. decided to make pie b. made it with (what I think) was a great success and c. (and this is the most shocking), REALLY REALLY liked the pie!

Next, I will say that I’ve never MADE pie before, so I was pretty clueless with…uh, what to do. I found a really easy recipe online, picked up fresh blueberries at the Farmer’s Market (this was in July, mind you), and bam. AMAZING blueberry pie.

This is a pretty basic recipe. For the crust, you can either use a premade crust, or use this recipe to make the crust yourself. I was originally going to just pick up a pre made crust at the grocery store, but my mom guilted me into making my own claiming “store bought crust doesn’t make for a REAL blueberry pie!” Thanks, Mom. Once you’ve made/bought the crust the rest is SIMPLE. Fill the pie crust with blueberries, bake. The end!

Word of Advice: Let the pie sit OVERNIGHT before cutting into it. I, of course, did no such thing, and dug into it an hour after it was done thinking “yeah, an hour will be enough for the pie to set, right? right?!” Well, it wasn’t, and my pie was a liquidy, delicious, mess. If you don’t mind things looking a little messy, and you’re going to scoop the pie into a bowl anyway, then don’t bother waiting, but if aesthetics are your thing/you’re planning on serving this at a dinner, etc, then I would say definitely let it sit, on the counter, covered overnight before slicing into it.

MOVING ON! The recipe.

What You Need:

Crust:

  • 2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 to 2/3 cup canola oil
  • 3 to 4 tablespoons milk

Pie Filling:

  • 1 quart fresh blueberries, washed
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • Dash ground cinnamon
  • Dash freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 4 teaspoons butter

What To Do:

Crust:

In a mixing bowl, mix the flour, sugar, and the salt. In a glass measuring cup, whisk together 1/2 cup  oil and 3 tablespoons milk with a fork. Add the wet into the bowl, and mix with your hands. If the dough feels too dry, add in a splash of milk (or two.) Place the dough into the middle of a 9 inch pie plate and with your fingers spread the dough to cover the bottom of the pan. Continue spreading the dough up the sides of the plan, letting the excess fall over the sides. Tear the excess off, roll into a ball and put it aside (this is what you’ll use for the crumble on top of the pie!)

Berry pie filling:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a bowl, add the washed berries, cornstarch, sugar, cinnamon, and freshly grated nutmeg. Stir gently.

Place the berry mixture in the bottom crust and sprinkle lemon juice over it. Then with an ordinary teaspoon, place little 1/2 teaspoons soft butter evenly over the top of the berry filling.

Crumble the reserved crust on top of the pie.

Bake for 45 to 50 minutes. Remove the pie when the crumbs are golden brown. Note: the pie WILL LOOK undercooked. It WILL look liquidy. Don’t fret. This is why you must let it set (again, overnight if possible.) It magically congeals over night into perfect pie.

2 responses »

  1. drool, drool, this pie looks amazing!

    Reply
  2. I am no longer eating white flour or sugar,and would so like to make your things but i would appreciate if you can help me with this ? Also my Aunt Betty and your Greatgrandfather Louis Swortz was a baker and they made there pie shells with butter and OJ for the liquid if your interested let me know and email me and I will give you their receipe for that and the best pecan rolls ever.Love and kisses Auntie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

