RSS Feed

Juice!

Posted on

For the past few months, I’ve been toting in bottles of green juice to work to enjoy deskside before the chaos of my work day begins. Subsequently, I’ve been getting a lot of questions about said green juice. Namely — Is it good? (Yes!), Where did you get it? (Chateau Stephanie), Why? (Because it’s like, really good?!) So, I’ve decided to dedicate this post to my elixir of choice – green juice!

After months of biting the bullet and spending $9 a pop for my juice fix, I took the plunge and invested in my own juicer . The results have been AWESOME. At first, I went crazy juicing everything in sight– strawberry orange , mint cantaloupe, grapefruit orange, all greens, pineapple orange apple, etc.  Now I don’t play around with it AS much, but I am pretty consistent about one in particular: the green stuff.  The recipe is pretty simple, and I don’t  use exact measurements, but the below yields about 16 ounces, or enough to fill up a standard clear plastic bottle. Here’s how I make it:

  • 2 small green apples, quartered
  • big handful of spinach
  • half a cucumber
  • a few leaves of romaine
  • half a lemon, peeled
  • a few stalks of celery (celery isn’t my favorite, so I so easy on it.)
Juice the above, and that’s it! You can switch it up depending on what you have:  replace the apple with pear, add some ginger, try some kale (I always have a hard time juicing kale, though). Once everything is juiced, I pour it into a clear plastic bottle, take it to work with me, pop it in the freezer for about 30 minutes to get it nice and chilly, and then guzzle it down. A few notes if you decide to make your own:
  • Wash all the fruit!
  • When everything is juiced, bottle it immediately. The longer the juice is exposed to air, the quicker it oxidizes (see: turns brown aka gross).
  • On that same note, if pouring into a bottle, fill it up as high as possible so that no air is in the bottle. I’m talking the very very VERY top, and seal it tight.
  • Best served cold.
Also, if anyone is wondering, this is boyfriend approved. Brian doesn’t drink it as much as I do, but when he does, he enjoys it!


Leave a Reply

