RSS Feed

Overnight Oats

Posted on

Have we discussed my love affair with oatmeal, yet? No? Well. Ever since I was little, I’m talking little little, I’ve been eating oatmeal for breakfast. I remember (and my Mom can attest to this), waking up, walking into the kitchen, and every single morning, there would be a bowl of oatmeal, covered, waiting for me on the stove. If it wasn’t? Forget about  it. Crying, raging, hysterical fit. Yes, I was a girl obsessed.

Years later, I’m still as committed to oatmeal. For the first 2 years I was in the working world, I ate oatmeal at my desk every morning. Without fail. It was the only thing that kept me full! This past year I discovered adding in different nut butters, peanut butter being my favorite. It’s amazing what one little scoop will do. Full for HOURS.

My new thing is overnight oats. Touted all over the blogosphere, I had been meaning to try them, but for one reason or another, never got around to it. Enter my former co worker Sophie  who started bringing them in to work for breakfast.  Never one to be out oated, I started making them and now I’m hooked! They’re easy, adaptable, filling and…different! Plus, when it’s 90 degrees outside, cold oatmeal makes so much more sense than hot. Duh.

The recipe is simple: 1/2 cup uncooked rolled/old fashioned oats, 1/2 cup (or more) of milk (I use almond), and then add ins of your choice. I usually go with some sort of combination consisting of uncooked oats + fruit + nut butter + spice. Past combinations include:

  • Blueberries, cinnamon, almond butter
  • Sliced bananas, almond slices, peanut butter
  • Flax, blueberries, peanut butter

etc, etc. The night before I plan on eating them, I put all of the above into a glass jar (usually an old peanut butter or jelly jar), close it, and let it sit in the fridge over night. The next morning, they’re ready to be eaten!

Enjoy!

One response »

  1. I’m not an oatmeal person. I just never could get into it and am still looking for someone to show me how to eat oatmeal. However, I will eat my version of muesli, which is very similar to your overnight oats. Basically, a cup of oats, a small container of yogurt (usually vanilla), a half can of pineapple (drained) all mixed up and stored overnight in the fridge. The next morning I add some nuts, dried fruit, fresh fruit, whatever is on hand. Makes enough for two servings or two breakfasts. Weird how I’ll eat cold “overnight oatmeal” but can’t figure out how to eat it hot! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

