RSS Feed

Cashew Oat Milk

I am so excited about this post. CASHEW MILK! Now, hold your horses. I can feel you getting grossed out and you haven’t even gotten past the first paragraph.  I know it’s hard to imagine making milk out of anything other than, well, cows, but this stuff is GOOD and easy. Trust.

I first got hooked on cashew milk thanks to BPC. Their 6th juice was my FAVORITE — it was a creamy, cinnammon-y, delicious party in my mouth. The ingredients were also pretty simple: cashews, water, cinnammon, agave, vanilla. That’s it! Not willing to wait for a cleanse to get my cashew milk fix, I took a stab at making my own and now I’m hooked. It took me a while to get the recipe exactly right — the first few times I made this sans oats and the result was a little too watery. The oats give it a creaminess that’s PERFECT.

What You Need:

  • 1 1/12cup raw cashews
  • 3 cups filtered water
  • 1 tbsp agave
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1  tsp cinnamon
  • nut milk bag (or fine mesh strainer)

What You Do:

  • Fill a jar up with cashews, cover with water, and seal. Let sit for at least 8 hours, overnight is preferred.
  • Drain the cashews and rinse well.
  • Place the oats into a food processor and pulse to a fine powder. Set aside.
  • Put the cashews in a food processor or blender, add 3 cups of water, add the oats and blend, blend, blend away (you want to pulverize the cashews as much as humanly possible.)
  • Next, place a nut milk bag (or fine mesh strainer/cheesecloth) over a jar and pour your cashew mixture in. Be sure to squeeze the bag when you’re done to get all the last liquid bits out of the leftover cashew mush.
  • Finally, add in the cinnamon and agave. Seal the bottle and give it a good shake. All done! Use it in cereal, to bake, or to dip cookies in!

Next up – almond milk!

 

Leave a Reply

