RSS Feed

Pumpkin Butter

Is pumpkin still “in”? Yes? No? Anyone?

According to Trader Joe’s it’s looooong gone baby and won’t be back until next year. Lucky for me, I have a Gristedes across the street and was able to snag a huge can. Phew. Yes, pumpkin might be more of a fall flavor than a winter one (HOW IS IT DECEMBER ALREADY?!) but I still love it, and will use any excuse (it’s cold out?) to make pumpkin treats.

I don’t know what inspired my sudden need to make pumpkin butter, but I’ve been seeing a lot of bloggers posting about different variations – apple and pumpkin namely – so I decided to take a stab. The good news is, it’s really easy. The better new is that it’s DELICIOUS. It’s a pumpkin dessert in a jar. I plan slathering this stuff on muffins, bread, pancakes and (most importantly) adding it into my oatmeal. This morning I added a tablespoon into my bowl of steel-cut oats and it was a hit. What’s not to love about pumpkin anything?!

What You Need (adapted from Smitten Kitchen):

  • 1 can pumpkin puree (29 oz — large can!)
  • 3/4 cup apple juice
  • 1.5 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 3/4 C sugar (I cut back on the sugar from her original recipe as I didn’t want it super sweet.)
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • Juice of half a lemon

What To Do:

  • Combine everything but the lemon in a large saucepan and stir well.
  • Bring everything to a boil, cover (leave lid ajar), lower heat, and let simmer for 45 minutes, stirring frequently.
  • After 45 minutes, taste, and adjust spices to taste.
  • Remove from heat, add lemon, stir and let cool.
  • Pour into mason jar/old jam jar and keep refrigerated between uses.

Leave a Reply

